Music & Writing?

Standard

Do you listen to music while you’re writing, or is it too distracting? My kids’ screams often serve as ambient noise while I work. Sometimes, I play nature and meditation CDs with names like Zen Garden or Orient Tranquility. (The kind you find below the machines that play music as you walk by, usually located in the same aisle with scented candles, flower vases, and throw pillows.) Other times, I have a little Norah Jones, Duncan Sheik, or–since I write YA fiction–Lorde playing softly. Then, during specifically angst-filled scenes, I might crank up Rammstein’s Du Hast to set the tone all the way to rage. Every now and then, I like it as close to silent as I can get after my 5 kids have gone to sleep. That’s the only way I can quiet my own mind enough to focus and draw my words to the surface. Though there are times when it gets to be too quiet, so I’ll turn on HGTV to feel like there’s someone talking that I need to ignore.

So, what kinds of music do you find inspiring? Who serenades you while you write?

About jenniferpruiettselby

Jennifer Pruiett-Selby is a woman of contradictions. She joined the military to find peace. Afterwards, she earned a Master’s degree in English from Iowa State University, a place whose focus and funding is science and technology–not liberal arts. She lives a life of anything but intrigue with her husband, poet Jason Selby, and five children in rural Iowa. The winner of SMARTISH PACE'S 2015 Beullah Rose Poetry Prize, her work has found homes with PRAIRIE SCHOONER, SUGAR HOUSE REVIEW, HOBART, H_NGM_N, CALYX, COLUMBIA REVIEW, LUNCH TICKET, EMBER, and her column, "Awkward in the Midwest," appears monthly with EASY STREET MAGAZINE. Her search for peace continues in the form of meditation through writing.

3 responses »

  1. Hi Jennifer, Sounds like you have a supportive music plan in place. No musical muse serenades me as I write. I always preferred studying by myself in college–no group jams for me. Same in writing–I need it very quiet. No TV. No iPods, DVDs, or radio. Love your blog’s design and contact. I look forward to reading more. God bless.

Leave a Reply

